27.09.2021

Webinar: Corporal punishment of children and public health: what does the research tell us?

Corporal punishment is a highly prevalent form of violence against children (VAC) and a breach of children’s human rights. Its widespread social acceptance means that a level of violence in childrearing is normalised, entrenching children’s low status in society and paving the way for other forms of violence and mistreatment.

Despite its prevalence, corporal punishment has struggled to gain meaningful attention within the political, policy and public health agendas. However, a growing body of research developed over five decades, including some 300 studies involving hundreds of thousands of children shows that its impacts are profound and far-reaching. Far from being trivial, research tells us that corporal punishment has significant negative impacts on the lives of children in the short and long term, with consequences and costs for society as a whole.

This webinar, hosted by the World Health Organization and the Global Partnership to End Violence Against Children, offers an opportunity to explore key research findings on corporal punishment of children. Hearing from some of the world’s leading academics on the topic, participants will gain a thorough understanding of the impact of corporal punishment on children’s health and well-being, and evidence-based insights into strategies for its prevention.

The research webinar will take place on October, 5 at 9am New York/3 pm Geneva/9 pm Manila Time.

Get more information about speakers and registration

Ein Service des deutschen Präventionstages.
www.praeventionstag.de


Related News „Event / WHO / Violence against Children“

15.06.2021
08.06.2021
01.06.2021
25.05.2021
18.05.2021